[Automatically translated]
from English to Turn off translation
Visitor informationVisitor information
Visitor information

Planned exhibition “Back to the Retro Japan”

In session

December 8 (Fri), 2023 – March 10 (Sun), 2024

This exhibition introduces lifestyle changes through a collection of tools from 40 to 150 years ago. It features these lifestyles of the past through numerous documents and diorama-like displays such as street corners and home interiors.

“Nan-demo-ya (Jack of all trades)” Store

  • “Nan-demo-ya (Jack of all trades)” Store
    * The image is from last year.
  • This exhibition is open on weekends and holidays. Retro toys are available for purchases.
    * Admission fee is required.

Related Events

Retro Toy Making Workshop

* Workshops require a separate fee from the exhibition admission fee.

* We will distribute numbered tickets at the exhibition room entrance starting 30 minutes before the event. The distribution will end once supplies are exhausted.

Dates, Fees & Capacities
December 17 (Sun), 2023Karakuri Miyakodori (paper bird)Fee: 500 yenNo capacity limits
January 7 (Sun), 2024Battledore KeychainFee: 400 yenNo capacity limits
January 21 (Sun), 2024Uguisu bue (bird whistle)Fee: 400 yenNo capacity limits
February 4 (Sun), 2024Plum blossom strapsFee: 800 yenCapacity: 10 participants per session
February 25 (Sun), 2024Personal Hina DollsFee: 400 yenNo capacity limits
March 10 (Sun), 2024Karakuri Miyakodori (paper bird)Fee: 500 yenNo capacity limits
Time11AM–12PM and 2–3PM each day
PlaceClassroom corner in special exhibition room on the 1st floor
InstructorsToy Creators Roku & Harue Morishima
  • Karakuri Miyakodori (paper bird)
    Karakuri Miyakodori (paper bird)
  • Battledore Keychain
    Battledore Keychain
  • Personal Hina Dolls
    Personal Hina Dolls
  • Plum blossom straps
    Plum blossom straps
  • Uguisu bue (bird whistle)
    Uguisu bue (bird whistle)
Making and Playing with Beanbags

* We will distribute numbered tickets at the exhibition room entrance starting 30 minutes before the event. Depending on the number of participants, registration may end earlier.

Dates December 16 (Sat), 2023  
December 23 (Sat), 2023  
January 13 (Sat), 2024  
January 27 (Sat), 2024   
February 10 (Sat), 2024   
February 17 (Sat), 2024
Time2–3PM each day
VenueAsobi Hiroba (Play Area)” in the special exhibition room on the 1st floor
InstructorsMonoshiri Hakase (well-informed persons)”
Spinning Experience

* We will distribute numbered tickets at the exhibition room entrance starting 30 minutes before the event. Depending on the number of participants, registration may end earlier.

Dates December 24 (Sun), 2023
January 14 (Sun), 2024
February 18 (Sun), 2024
March 3 (Sun), 2024
Time11AM–12PM each day (2–3PM only on February 18)
VenueIeno-naka (Inside the House) Corner” in the special exhibition room on the 1st floor
InstructorsMonoshiri Hakase (well-informed persons)”
Ginning Experience

* We will distribute numbered tickets at the exhibition room entrance starting 30 minutes before the event. Depending on the number of participants, registration may end earlier.

Dates January 6 (Sat), 2024
January 20 (Sat), 2024
February 3 (Sat), 2024
March 9 (Sat), 2024
Time11AM–12PM each day
VenueIeno-naka (Inside the House) Corner” in the special exhibition room on the 1st floor
InstructorsMonoshiri Hakase (well-informed persons)”
get pdf

When you browse PDF files, browsing software is required.
If you don't have free Adobe Reader, etc., installed, click the button on the lefttop and follow the download instructions provided. *A new window will open for download procedures.